31 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

Yoga 101: The Eight Limbs

This entry was posted on Might 8, 2024 by Charlotte Bell.

YoginiSome time again, I posted a weblog that sketched out a really fundamental define of the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. After all, we will’t presumably seize the essence of the sutras in a single weblog publish, or perhaps a collection of them. It’s greatest once we digest them over time. And it’s even higher once we contemplate them within the context of our personal lives. As we speak’s publish will define the Eight Limbs of Yoga.

The sutras are divided into 4 padas (chapters). The second pada is the one which yoga academics and practitioners most frequently confer with. It’s because the second pada consists of the Eight Limbs of Yoga. The Eight Limbs present a scaffolding for the entire system of yoga, based on the sutras.

Whereas the sutras checklist the limbs in a selected order, they don’t seem to be hierarchical. They’re not like a ladder with eight steps. As an alternative, all of the limbs feed into the entire, form of just like the limbs on a tree. Working towards any one of many limbs helps all of the others.

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

Right here’s a brief synopsis of the limbs:

  1. Yama: Yama means “restraint.” The yamas are moral or ethical precepts for dwelling peacefully on the planet. They embrace ahimsa (non-harming), satya (truthfulness), asteya (non-stealing), brahmacharya (smart use of sexual vitality), and aparigraha (non-greed).
  2. Niyama: The niyamas are private practices that assist us create a wholesome basis for our every day lives. They embrace saucha (cleanliness), santosha (contentment), tapas (vitality or dedication to apply), svadhyaya (self-study and examine of inspiring texts) and isvara pranidhana (dedicating our apply to one thing bigger than ourselves).
  3. Asana: That is the limb we most frequently affiliate with yoga—the bodily postures.
  4. Pranayama: Pranayama is the apply of controlling and increasing the breath.
  5. Pratyahara: The most typical description of this limb is “withdrawal from the senses.” I interpret it as a refinement of our relationship with our senses.
  6. Dharana: Dharana is focus. It’s the gathering of the thoughts onto a single object.
  7. Dhyana: Dhyana is meditation. It’s the power of thoughts to remain current it doesn’t matter what we’re experiencing by our senses.
  8. Samadhi: Samadhi is the fully settled, expansive thoughts.

That is only a bite-sized description of the framework for yoga apply. Any of the limbs—and even any a part of the limbs, say one of many yamas—might be fodder for years of apply.

Should you’re desirous about studying extra, my e-book Conscious Yoga, Conscious Life: A Information for On a regular basis Follow, outlines the Eight Limbs and goes into element about every one. There are additionally solutions for tactics to apply every one.

About Charlotte Bell

Charlotte Bell found yoga in 1982 and commenced educating in 1986. Charlotte is the writer of Conscious Yoga, Conscious Life: A Information for On a regular basis Follow and Yoga for Meditators, each printed by Rodmell Press. Her third e-book is titled Hip-Wholesome Asana: The Yoga Practitioner’s Information to Defending the Hips and Avoiding SI Joint Ache (Shambhala Publications). She writes a month-to-month column for CATALYST Journal and serves as editor for Yoga U On-line. Charlotte is a founding board member for GreenTREE Yoga, a non-profit that brings yoga to underserved populations. A lifelong musician, Charlotte performs oboe and English horn within the Salt Lake Symphony and people sextet Crimson Rock Rondo, whose DVD received two Emmy awards in 2010.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles